Western Connecticut COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS



South Western Region Metropolitan Planning Organization APPROVED SWRMPO MINUTES

For the 5/18/2017 Meeting Held at the Ridgefield Visiting Nurse Association 27 Governor Street, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Chairman Jayme Stevenson - Vice Chairman Robert Mallozzi

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Darien	First Selectman Jayme Stevenson, Chairman
Greenwich	First Selectman Peter Tesei
New Canaan	First Selectman Robert Mallozzi
Norwalk	Mayor Harry Rilling
Stamford	Transportation Bureau Chief James Travers
Weston	Alternate Town Planner Tracy Kulakowski
Westport	First Selectman James Marpe
Wilton	First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice
Transit	Norwalk Transit District CEO Kimberlee Morton
CTDOT	Absent (non-voting)
MPO Staff	Executive Director Francis Pickering (non-voting)

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Bethel Selectman Richard Straiton, Brookfield First Selectman Steve Dunn, Danbury Planning Director Sharon Calitro, New Milford Mayor David Gronbach, Newtown First Selectman Patricia Llodra, Redding First Selectman Julia Pemberton, Ridgefield First Selectman Rudy Marconi, HARTransit Development Director Richard Schreiner.

Also Stamford Chief of Staff Michael Pollard, John Suggs of the Westport Transit District, Harrison Wenchell of HARTransit, and WestCOG staff members Francis Pickering, Patricia Payne, Robert Sachnin, Carl Zimmerman, Elizabeth Esposito, Nicole Sullivan and Jonathan Chew. Interns Matt Lametta, Rebecca Agababizan, Alex Burns, and Angelo Bochanis of Weston and interns Liam Riebling, Katie Jasminski, Lucy Briody, and Brandon Wong of Ridgefield. In addition Ellen Graham of Senator Blumenthal's office and Lauren Elliot from the Town of Greenwich

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Jayme Stevenson called the meeting to order at 11:30 am.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There was no public participation.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

CTDOT Matching Grant Program 13b-38bb: Rick Schreiner reviewed a memo on this program attached to the agenda entitled "State Matching Grant Program for Elderly and Demand Response Transportation." Application requirements and funding were discussed.

Local Road Accident Reduction Program: Rob Sachnin reported on this funding program, noting that applications are due at WestCOG shortly. The "target" project cap is \$500,000 in federal funding at 90% for the construction phase with the remainder as the municipal responsibility. CTDOT will accept for review two applications per COG region. There was brief discussion.

Repeal of Federal MPO Coordination Rule: Francis Pickering noted that both the House and the Senate had approved legislation revoking these requirements and that the resulting bill awaits the President's signature.

OPM Responsible Growth and TOD Planning Grants: Francis Pickering reviewed this state grant application, which offers funding of up to \$2 million for advancing state and local goals for responsible growth and TOD. WestCOG is required to comment upon each application, he said. There was discussion.

Transportation Alternatives Program Update: Rob Sachnin noted that the MPOs advanced priorities to CTDOT last December. For the Danbury Urbanized Area, CTDOT has selected the Brookfield Four Corners project. Then for the Bridgeport – Stamford Urbanized Area, where staff is working with the priority project sponsors on next steps.

ACTION ITEMS

Approval of 4/20/2017 Meeting Minutes: After review and on a motion made by Rob Mallozzi and seconded by Peter Tesei, the minutes of the meeting of 4/20/2017 were unanimously approved, with Harry Rilling abstaining.

TIP Endorsement Request: A CT DOT request for a TIP amendment by SWRMPO, labeled as SWRTIP #Am2017-004, was reviewed by Rob Sachnin, referring to the summary attached to the agenda and entitled "0170-3450: FY17 Statewide Transportation Demand Management (NY-NJ-CT Moderate)."

There was discussion. A question by John Suggs was responded to. Then on a motion made by Lynne Vanderslice and seconded by Rob Mallozzi, the TIP amendment above was unanimously approved, including the attached "Resolution #2017-004 to Endorse the South Western Region FY2015-18 TIP."

Annual Federal Certification: Rob Sachnin reference the attached Resolution #2017-005, certifying that SWRMPO has conducted its regional transportation planning program in accordance with all applicable laws and regulations. Then on a motion made by Harry Rilling and seconded by Lynne Vanderslice, the resolution as referenced was unanimously endorsed.

FY2018 - 19 Unified Planning Work Program: Rob Sachnin commented on the upcoming two-year application for regional transportation planning funds. The application is highly detailed as it must be inclusive of many mandatory federal and state transportation planning procedures, he said.

He then reviewed the attached memo entitled "Approval of Unified Planning Work Programs." After brief discussion and on a motion made by Lynne Vanderslice and seconded by Peter Tesei, it was voted unanimously to approve the Unified Planning Work Program including the attached SWRMPO Resolution #2017-006. Additional MPO comments are welcome and will be addressed during the program year.

Priorities for FTA 5310 Grant Applications: Rick Schreiner addressed this topic, reviewing the "**Prioritization of Federal Transit Administration Grant Applications. He noted that each** year the Federal Transit Administration announces the availability of the Section 5310 grant program, then CTDOT requires MPOs to prioritize 5310 grant program applications affecting their respective regions.

There was discussion. Then regarding SWRMPO priorities, on a motion made by Harry Rilling and seconded by Lynne Vanderslice, the recommended priorities above were unanimously endorsed.

COMMENT AND DISCUSSION

Rudy Marconi discussed the MS President US Program, designed to encourage students in the 4th thru 8th grades to develop leadership skills.

SWRMPO ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Jayme Stevenson stated that the next MPO meeting will be held at 11:30 am before the WestCOG meeting scheduled for 6/15/2017 at the Ridgefield Visiting Nurse Association in Ridgefield. Then on a motion duly made and seconded it was voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 12:05 pm.