Western Connecticut COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS



Disclaimer: These interim minutes of the Housatonic Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization ("HVMPO" or "MPO") are released and "available for public inspection" and "posted" on WestCOG's website, in accordance with C.G.S. §1-225(a). Said interim minutes are subject to review and approval by the HVMPO members, after which time the final approved minutes will be available and posted in accordance with laws. Accordingly, the interim minutes may contain er Phillip IIII inaccuracies and do not reflect the final action of the HVMPO.

Housatonic Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization

INTERIM HVMPO MINUTES

For the 03/15/2018 Meeting Held at the Ridgefield Visiting Nurse Association 27 Governor Street, Ridgefield, CT 06877

Chairman Rudolph Marconi - Vice Chairman Julia Pemberton

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Bethel First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker

Bridgewater First Selectman Curtis Read **Brookfield** First Selectman Steve Dunn

Danbury Absent New Fairfield Absent

New Milford **Mayor Pete Bass**

First Selectman Dan Rosenthal Newtown First Selectman Julia Pemberton Redding Ridgefield Town Engineer Charles Fisher First Selectman Don Lowe Sherman

HARTransit Development Director Rick Schreiner

CTDOT Transportation Planner Kerry Ross (non-voting) **MPO Staff** Executive Director Francis Pickering (non-voting)

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

WestCOG staff members in attendance were Robert Sachnin, Patricia Payne, Jamie Bastian, Nicole Sullivan, and Kristin Hadjstylianos. Also in attendance were; Harrison Wenchell of HARTransit, Max Friedman of CCM, Martin Fox of Westport Transit District, Adam Schnell Town of Ridgefield, Sara Harris Town of Westport, Mark Massaro of Eversource, Lissette Andino of Eversource, Samantha Sojka of Eversource, and Tracey Alston of Eversource. As well as James Root and Mose Saccasy. Susan Marks of the Darien Board of Selectman, New Canaan First Selectman Kevin Moynihan, Norwalk Mayor Harry Rilling (teleconference), Stamford Transportation Bureau Chief Jim Travers, Weston First Selectman Chris Spaulding, Westport First Selectman James Marpe, Wilton First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice, and Norwalk Transit CEO Kimberlee Morton were in attendance.

CALL TO ORDER

HVMPO Vice Chairman Julia Pemberton called the meeting to order at 11:33am.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There was no public participation.

FEATURED PRESENTATION

Development Director Rick Schreiner and Transportation Planner Harrison Wenchell of HARTransit presented on the Commuter and Rail Parking Study.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

FTA 5310 Prioritization Schedule: Principal Planner Sachnin described the analyzation process and coordination with CTDOT. Endorsement of priorities will begin in April.

State Matching Grant Program/13b-38bb: Principal Planner Sachnin noted the matching program provided by the State of Connecticut for municipalities that provide "dial-a-ride" services. The deadline for submissions to the Region and CTDOT is May 18th, 2018

USDOT 2018 Quadrennial Certification Review (SWR): Principal Planner Sachnin noted the process for certification, which pertains to the South Western Region MPO only. The review has been scheduled for April 26th.

ACTION ITEMS

HVMPO Approval of 02/15/2018 Meeting Minutes: After review and on a motion made by First Selectman Steve Dunn and seconded by First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker, the minutes of the meeting of 02/15/2018 were unanimously approved except with an abstention made by the Town of Ridgefield.

HVMPO 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program: Amendments to project #117-161; Ridgefield-Branchville TOD Bike/Pedestrian Improvements and project #300-XXXX; New Haven Line Bridge Timber Replacement Project were discussed in regards to the Transportation Improvement Program. On a motion made by First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker and seconded by First Selectman Curtis Read, the HVMPO TIP amendments were unanimously endorsed.

OTHER BUSINESS

There was discussion regarding 1-95.

ADJOURNMENT

The next MPO meeting will be held on April 19th. On a motion duly made and seconded it was voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 12:20pm.