Western Connecticut COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS



Approved Minutes of the Western Connecticut Council of Governments and the Housatonic Valley & South Western Region Metropolitan Planning Organizations

for the 05/22/2018 Joint Meeting

Held via teleconference and located at the WestCOG office: 1 Riverside Road, Sandy Hook, CT 06842

WestCOG: Chairman Jayme Stevenson - Vice Chairman Rudolph Marconi Treasurer Lynne Vanderslice- Secretary Julia Pemberton **HVMPO:** Chairman Rudolph Marconi - Vice Chairman Julia Pemberton **SWRMPO:** Chairman Jayme Stevenson - Vice Chairman James Marpe

MEMBERS ATTENDING

Bethel Bridgewater Brookfield Danbury New Fairfield New Milford Newtown Redding Ridgefield Sherman HARTransit CTDOT	First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker Absent Director of Planning Sharon Calitro Absent Mayor Pete Bass First Selectman Dan Rosenthal First Selectman Julia Pemberton First Selectman Rudy Marconi Absent Development Director Rick Schreiner (HVMPO voting member only) Kathryn Faraci (non-voting)
Darien	First Selectman Jayme Stevenson
Greenwich	First Selectman Peter Tesei
New Canaan	First Selectman Kevin Moynihan
Norwalk	Absent
Stamford	Absent
Weston	First Selectman Chris Spaulding
Westport	RTM Deputy Moderator, Jeffrey Wieser
Wilton	First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice
Transit	Absent (SWRMPO voting member only)

OTHERS ATTENDING

WestCOG staff members in attendance were, Kristin Hadjstylianos, Jamie Bastian, Nicole Sullivan, and Executive Director Francis Pickering.

CALL TO ORDER

1 Riverside Road, Sandy Hook, CT 06482

The meeting was called to order at 1:34pm by Chairman Jayme Stevenson.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There was no public participation.

ACTION ITEMS

HVMPO Approval of April 19, 2018 Minutes: After review and on a motion made by First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker and seconded by First Selectman Dan Rosenthal, the minutes of the 04/19/2018 meeting were unanimously approved. However, there were abstentions made by Mayor Pete Bass and Director of Planning Sharon Calitro.

SWRMPO Approval of April 19, 2018 Minutes: After review and on a motion made by First Selectman Peter Tesei and seconded by First Selectman Chris Spaulding, the minutes of the 04/19/2018 meeting were unanimously approved.

WestCOG Approval of March 15, 2018 Minutes: After review and on a motion made by First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker and seconded by Mayor Pete Bass, the minutes of the 03/15/2018 meeting were unanimously approved. However, there were abstentions made by Director of Planning Sharon Calitro.

HVMPO Unified Planning Work Program Amendment: There was discussion. On a motion made by Mayor Pete Bass and seconded by First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker, the Statement of Cooperative MPO/State/Transit Operators' Planning Roles & Responsibilities was unanimously endorsed and the HVMPO Unified Planning Work Program was unanimously amended to include the agreement as an appendix.

SWRMPO Unified Planning Work Program Amendment: There was discussion. On a motion made by First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice and seconded by First Selectman Chris Spaulding, the Statement of Cooperative MPO/State/Transit Operators' Planning Roles & Responsibilities was unanimously endorsed and the SWRMPO Unified Planning Work Program was unanimously amended to include the agreement as an appendix.

HVMPO 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program: Amendment to project #018-134; Rehabilitation of Bridge 01343 in Brookfield and Bridgewater, #096-200; Resurfacing, Bridge and Safety Improvements, I-84 in Newtown, #174-424; Replace Traffic Control Signals at Various Locations in District 4, #170-3496; FY 18 Statewide Transportation Demand Management (Greater CT Moderate), and #170-3495; FY 18 Statewide Transportation Demand Management (NY-NJ-CT Moderate) was discussed. On a motion made by First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker and seconded by First Selectman Julia Pemberton, the HVMPO TIP amendment was unanimously endorsed.

SWRMPO 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program: Amendment to project #170-3495; FY 18 Statewide Transportation Demand Management (NY-NJ-CT Moderate) and project

#173-0496; Replace and Install Variable Message Signs was discussed. On a motion made by First Selectman Chris Spaulding and seconded by First Selectman Peter Tesei, the SWRMPO TIP amendment was unanimously endorsed.

WestCOG Letter of Commitment- HARTransit Grant Application: There was discussion regarding the National Aging and Disability Transportation Center; Getting Ready to Innovate grant. The Letter of Commitment for the HARTransit grant application was presented to the COG. On a motion made by First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice and seconded by First Selectman Julia Pemberton, the COG Letter of Commitment for the HARTransit for the HARTransit Grant Application was unanimously approved.

INFORMATION ITEMS

USDOT BUILD Discretionary Grants Program: The Better Utilizing Investments to Leverage Development discretionary grant program, formerly known as the TIGER discretionary grant program, was discussed. The application process and requirements were reviewed.

USDOT FTA 2018 Low or No Emission Grant Program: The grant program seeks to support the transition of transit fleets to the most energy efficient vehicles. The application for FTA designated recipients was discussed.

EPA Clean Diesel National DERA Grant Program: The grant program seeks to provide funding to projects with lowered diesel emissions. Eligible applicants include School Districts, Regional, State, and Local entities.

OTHER BUSINESS

Chairman Stevenson acknowledged the recovery process for the communities impacted by the recent storm.

ADJOURNMENT

The next MPO and COG meetings will be held on June 21st. On a motion made by First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice and seconded by Director of Planning Sharon Calitro, the meeting was unanimously adjourned at 2:15pm.