Western Connecticut COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS



Housatonic Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization APPROVED HVMPO MINUTES

For the 01/16/2020 Meeting Held at the Ridgefield Visiting Nurse Association

Held at the Ridgefield Visiting Nurse Association 27 Governor Street, Ridgefield, Connecticut Chairman Rudolph Marconi - Vice Chairman Julia Pemberton

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Bethel	First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker
Bridgewater	First Selectman Curtis Read
Brookfield	First Selectman Steve Dunn
Danbury	Absent
New Fairfield	First Selectman Pat Del Monaco
New Milford	Mayor Pete Bass
Newtown	First Selectman Dan Rosenthal
Redding	First Selectman Julia Pemberton
Ridgefield	First Selectman Rudy Marconi
Sherman	First Selectman Don Lowe
Transit Representative	CEO Rick Schreiner
CTDOT	Absent
MPO Staff	Executive Director Francis Pickering (non-voting)

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Darien First Selectman Jayme Stevenson, New Canaan First Selectman Kevin Moynihan, Stamford Transportation Bureau Chief Jim Travers, Weston First Selectman Chris Spaulding, Wilton First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice and Westport First Selectman James Marpe were in attendance. WestCOG staff members in attendance were Kristin Hadjstylianos, Kristin Floberg, Patty Payne, Charles Vidich, and Victoria Ricks. Alex Dashev from HARTransit, Norwalk Transit CEO Kimberlee Morton, Ellen Graham from Senator Blumenthal's office and Ridgefield resident Karen Heller were also in attendance.

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Rudy Marconi called the meeting to order at 11:42am.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Chairman Rudy Marconi congratulated Rick Schreiner, from HARTransit, on his promotion to Chief Executive Officer.

INFORMATION ITEMS

EPA Clean Diesel National DERA Grant Program: WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos gave an update on a Clean Diesel National DERA Grant that is currently open for solicitation on projects that reduce diesel emissions. Example projects include verified idle reduction technologies, certified engine replacements, certified vehicle replacements and exhaust control technologies. The

max award is \$1,000,000. Please contact Kristin Hadjstylianos at WestCOG with any questions or for more information. Grants applications are due by Feb 26th, 2020.

Congestion Mitigation Air Quality (CMAQ) Program: WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos gave an update on the Congestion Mitigation Air Quality Program that will be coming available soon. Eligible projects include transit improvements, congestion reduction and traffic flow improvements, pedestrian and bicycle facilities, freight/intermodal projects and idle reduction projects. Please contact Kristin Hadjstylianos at WestCOG with any questions or for more information.

Regional Transportation Priorities Update: WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos gave an update on incorporating regional transportation priorities into future grant solicitations. The priority at this time is to continue to move forward all projects that are ready to go to construction.

ACTION ITEMS

HVMPO Approval of 12/19/2019 Meeting Minutes: After review and on a motion made by Brookfield First Selectman Steve Dunn and seconded by Sherman First Selectman Don Lowe, the minutes of the 12/19/2019 meeting were unanimously approved with abstentions made by New Fairfield First Selectman Pat Del Monaco and Bethel First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker.

Election of Officers: After a nomination of Ridgefield First Selectman Rudy Marconi for Chairman of the HVMPO by Brookfield First Selectman Steve Dunn and seconded by New Milford Mayor Pete Bass, the Chairman was unanimously approved. After a nomination of Redding First Selectman Julia Pemberton for Vice Chairman of the HVMPO by Brookfield First Selectman Steve Dunn and seconded by Bethel First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker, the Vice Chairman was unanimously approved

OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business discussed.

ADJOURNMENT

The next MPO meeting will be held at the Legislative Reception on Thursday, February 13thin Hartford. On a motion duly made and seconded it was voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 12:09pm.