# Western Connecticut COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS



South Western Region Metropolitan Planning Organization

# **APPROVED SWRMPO MINUTES**

For the 01/16/2020 Meeting

Held at the Ridgefield Visiting Nurse Association 27 Governor Street, Ridgefield, Connecticut Chairman Jayme Stevenson - Vice Chairman James Marpe

#### MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Darien First Selectman Jayme Stevenson

Greenwich Absent

New Canaan First Selectman Kevin Moynihan

Norwalk Absent

Stamford Transportation Bureau Chief Jim Travers

Weston Fist Selectman Chris Spaulding
Westport First Selectman James Marpe
Wilton First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice

Transit Representative CEO Kimberlee Morton

CTDOT Absent

MPO Staff Executive Director Francis Pickering (non-voting)

#### OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Bridgewater First Selectman Curtis Read, Bethel First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker, Brookfield First Selectman Steve Dunn, New Fairfield First Selectman Pat Del Monaco, New Milford Mayor Pete Bass, Newtown First Selectman Dan Rosenthal, Redding First Selectman Julia Pemberton, Ridgefield First Selectman Rudy Marconi, Sherman First Selectman Don Lowe and HARTransit CEO Rick Schreiner were in attendance. WestCOG staff members in attendance were Kristin Hadjstylianos, Kristin Floberg, Charles Vidich, Patty Payne and Victoria Ricks. Alex Dashev from HARTransit, Ellen Graham from Senator Blumenthal's office, and Ridgefield resident Karen Heller were also in attendance.

### CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Jayme Stevenson called the meeting to order at 11:42 am.

#### **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

Vice-Chairman Rudy Marconi congratulated Rick Schreiner, from HARTransit, on his promotion to Chief Executive Officer.

#### INFORMATION ITEMS

**EPA Clean Diesel National DERA Grant Program:** WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos gave an update on a Clean Diesel National DERA Grant that is currently open for solicitation on projects that reduce diesel emissions. Example projects include verified idle reduction technologies, certified engine replacements, certified vehicle replacements and exhaust control technologies. The

max award is \$1,000,000. Please contact Kristin Hadjstylianos at WestCOG with any questions or for more information. Grants applications are due by Feb 26<sup>th</sup>, 2020.

Congestion Mitigation Air Quality (CMAQ) Program: WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos gave an update on the Congestion Mitigation Air Quality Ptrogram that will be coming available soon. Eligible projects include transit improvements, congestion reduction and traffic flow improvements, pedestrian and bicycle facilities, freight/intermodal projects and idle reduction projects. Please contact Kristin Hadjstylianos at WestCOG with any questions or for more information.

**Regional Transportation Priorities Update:** WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos gave an update on incorporating regional transportation priorities into future grant solicitations. The priority at this time is to continue to move forward all projects that are ready to go to construction.

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

SWRMPO Approval of 12/19/2019 Meeting Minutes: After review and on a motion made by Stamford Transportation Bureau Chief Jim Travers and seconded by New Canaan First Selectman Kevin Moynihan, the minutes of the 12/19/2019 meeting were unanimously approved, with abstentions made by Westport First Selectman James Marpe.

Election of Officers: After a nomination of Darien First Selectman Jayme Stevenson for Chairman of the SWRMPO by Westport First Selectman James Marpe and seconded by New Canaan First Selectman Kevin Moynihan, the Chairman was unanimously approved. After a nomination of Westport First Selectman James Marpe for Vice Chairman of the SWRMPO by Darien First Selectman Jayme Stevenson and seconded by New Canaan First Selectman Kevin Moynihan, the Vice Chairman was unanimously approved

#### **OTHER BUSINESS**

There was no other business discussed.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The next MPO meeting will be held at the Legislative Reception on Thursday, February 13<sup>th</sup>in Hartford. On a motion duly made and seconded it was voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 12:09pm.