Western Connecticut COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS



South Western Region Metropolitan Planning Organization

APPROVED SWRMPO MINUTES

For the 06/18/2020 Meeting

Held via videoconference

Chairman Jayme Stevenson - Vice Chairman James Marpe

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Darien First Selectman Jayme Stevenson

Greenwich Selectman Lauren Rabin

New Canaan First Selectman Kevin Moynihan

Norwalk Absent

Stamford Mayor David Martin

Weston First Selectman Chris Spaulding
Westport First Selectman James Marpe
Wilton First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice

Transit Representative CEO Kimberlee Morton

CTDOT Transportation Planning Supervisor Kathryn Faraci
MPO Staff Executive Director Francis Pickering (non-voting)

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Ridgefield First Selectman Rudy Marconi, Bethel First Selectman Matt Knickerbocker, Bridgewater First Selectman Curtis Read, Brookfield First Selectman Steve Dunn, New Fairfield First Selectman Pat Del Monaco, New Milford Mayor Pete Bass, Newtown First Selectman Dan Rosenthal, Redding First Selectman Julia Pemberton, and Sherman First Selectman Don Lowe were in attendance. WestCOG staff members in attendance were Mike Towle, Kristin Hadjstylianos, Todd Fontanella, Nicole Sullivan, Kristin Floberg, Patty Payne, Paula Burton, Kevin Mahoney, Nick Trabka, Charles Vidich, Hamsa Ganapathi, Chad Schroeder and Victoria Ricks. Rick Schreiner from HARTransit, Ellen Graham from Senator Blumenthal's office, Tracey Alston and Samantha LaBonne from Eversource, WestCOG attorney Steve Mednick, as well as members of the public Jennine Lupo were also in attendance.

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Jayme Stevenson called the meeting to order at 12:04pm.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

There was no public participation.

INFORMATION ITEMS

FTA Section 5310 Grant Program: WestCOG Senior Planner Todd Fontanella gave an update on the grant solicitation available to improve mobility for seniors and individuals with disabilities. Draft applications are due June 19th to WestCOG. Final applications are due to WestCOG and CTDOT by June 26th.

Regional Transportation Safety Plan Update: WestCOG Assistant Planner Nicole Sullivan gave an update on the plan. The consultant, VN Engineers, will assign recommendations to the high crash locations based on the countermeasures and funding sources discussed with the municipalities for the upcoming draft report.

Statewide Active Transportation Initiative: WestCOG Webinar: WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos gave an update on the upcoming WestCOG partnered Webinar, occurring on June 25th, "Managing Parks and Open Space During a Pandemic". The event is geared to municipal park and open space mangers. If any municipality would like more information, please contact WestCOG staff.

ACTION ITEMS

SWRMPO Approval of 5/21/2020 Meeting Minutes: After review and on a motion made by Wilton First Selectman Lynne Vanderslice and seconded by Norwalk Transit CEO Kim Morton, the minutes of the 5/21/2020 meeting were unanimously approved.

2018–2021 Transportation Improvement Program: After a review by WestCOG Assistant Planner Nicole Sullivan and on a motion made by Westport First Selectman James Marpe and seconded by Norwalk Transit CEO Kim Morton, the SWRMPO TIP *Amendment #2020–0618: 0135–0331 Replace Bridge 00135 over Rippowam River in Stamford* was unanimously approved.

SWRMPO Planning Studies: After review by WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos and on a motion made by Darien First Selectman Jayme Stevenson and seconded by Westport First Selectman James Marpe, the technical study priorities were unanimously approved as follows: 1) Explore the feasibility of a quiet zone on the New Canaan branch line, 2) Evaluate the Westport Rt 57 and Rt 136 intersection, and 3) Evaluate the Darien intersection of Rt 106 and Middlesex and Christie Hill Roads.

OTHER BUSINESS

WestCOG Senior Planner Kristin Hadjstylianos reminded the members of the MAP forum Zoom meeting being held June 19th at 10:30am.

ADJOURNMENT

The next MPO meeting will be held on Thursday, July 23rd. On a motion duly made and seconded it was voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 12:23 pm.