Hazard Mitigation Plans

WestCOG provides planning and services for its communities to assist in mitigation of hazards within the WestCOG region.

WestCOG’s former agencies (SWRPA and HVCEO) received funding to complete Hazard Mitigation Plans (HMP) for all 18 communities in the WestCOG region. The HMPs are a bridge to potential FEMA Mitigation funds and grant opportunities.

The plan is designed to provide residents, businesses, and emergency responders with information on natural hazards including: floods, coastal storms and nor’easters, hurricanes, blizzards/severe winter storms/ice storms, drought, sea level rise, earthquakes, and dam failure. Additionally, the HMPs have an emphasis on providing mitigation goals, objectives and strategies for each municipality in the region.

Electronic copies of these plans can be found below.

Regional Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan, 2016-2020 (South)

Greenwich, Stamford, Darien, Norwalk, Westport, New Canaan, Wilton, Weston are covered in this Regional Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan.

HMP Coverjpg_Page1

Executive Summary

Adopted Plan



Municipal Natural Hazard Mitigation Plans (Northern Region)

Bethel, Brookfield, Bridgewater, Danbury, New Milford, Newtown, New Fairfield, Redding, Ridgefield, and Sherman are covered by individual HMPs drafted in cooperation with Milone and MacBroom.

Menu Title