Congestion Management Process

Per Federal regulation §450.322, the transportation planning process must address congestion management in all Transportation Management Areas (TMA). SWRMPO meets the criteria of a TMA with a population over 200,000.  Since the formation of WestCOG, which now hosts both SWRMPO and HVMPO, highly congested roadways on the national highway system in the HVMPO have also been monitored and reported on.

Specifically, the Congestion Management Process (CMP) includes the following steps:

  1. Determine the highway and transit CMP network;
  2. Define congestion, including parameters to be measured and associated thresholds;
  3. Identify congested links, including review of CTDOT’s Annual Congestion Management System (CMS) report;
  4. Develop strategies to address congested links;
  5. Implement short- and long-term strategies;
  6. Monitor the network, including improvements.

A detailed version of the 2014 Congestion Management Process report can be found here.

The three major arterial roadways in the region are Interstate 95, Interstate 84 and the Merritt Parkway (Route 15). Updated briefings for each specific corridor were created in 2016 and can be accessed here: