Congestion Management Process

South Western Region Congestion Management Process

The South Western Region Metropolitan Planning Organization (SWRMPO) was designated as a Transportation Management Area (TMA) as a result of population growth measured by the 2000 Census. Consequently, the SWRMPO is required to develop and implement a congestion management process (CMP) as part of its Long Range Transportation Plan.

Travel Time Monitoring Program

1 CMP2013_travel_time_monitoring_reportSWRPA’s Travel Time Monitoring Program is an important component of the CMP. The objective of the travel time monitoring program is to obtain quantitative data measuring travel time and delay along the highway network in South Western Connecticut. Data produced from this program supports SWRPA’s transportation planning program and CMP by helping SWRPA locate ‘hot spots’ and recommend improvements that mitigate congestion and improve the reliability of the transportation system. The travel time monitoring program covers I-95 and CT 15 (Merritt Parkway) between Stratford and Greenwich and US 7 between Danbury and Norwalk.

2013 Report
2012 Report
2012 Executive Summary
2011 Report
2011 Executive Summary
2009 Report
2008 Report
2007 Report

Connecticut Electronic Tolling and Congestion Pricing Study

final_report_-_tolling_studyIn April 2009, the Transportation Strategy Board published findings from a study of tolling and congestion pricing strategies for Connecticut. The study summarizes the state of the practice nationally, evaluates a number of tolling concepts for highways throughout Connecticut, and analyzes the impact of tolling on traffic and congestion, finances, the economy, the environment, equity and privacy.

Final Report

Congestion Mitigation System Plan – Vision 2020

DocsCMScms2020FinalReportCompleteThe purpose of this study was to develop a strategic plan for reducing traffic congestion in Connecticut’s southwest corridor and improving mobility and access within the southwest corridor and with adjacent regions in the New York Metropolitan Area. For the purposes of this study, the southwest corridor was defined to include all of Fairfield County and the New Haven County cities/towns of Bethany, Branford, East Haven, Hamden, Meriden, Milford, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Wallingford, West Haven and Woodbridge.

Final Report, 2003

Executive Summary, 2003

Fact Sheets


Menu Title